Unsubscribing from Apple’s MobileMe Trial

So my better half wanted to unsubscribe from Apple’s MobileMe after an unsuccessful trial. What that really means, to be totally fair to both Apple and myself, is that MobileMe didn’t meet her requirements and that I was to unsubscribe from it for her (after all I had help her set it up in the first place).

This should have been a simple 5 minute task at most. IT WAS NOT!!! (No, CAPS LOCK was not accidentally pressed. Yes, I am cross).

As an existing iTunes user, my wife has long had an Apple account. For the purposes I shall refer to it as iTunesAppleAccount@Domain.com.

During setup of the MobileMe trial my wife used her existing Apple ID and was issued a new email address for MobileMe which I shall refer to MobileMeAccount@Me.com.

My wife was sent the following in an email from the MobileMe service which hit her one and only inbox:

If you’d like to make changes to the billing settings listed, log into me.com and click on Account. Choose Account Options to cancel your account, or Billing Info to update your credit card.

I clicked the link and entered her Apple ID (iTunesAppleAccount@Domain.com) which sent me straight to the rather good Find page which proceeded to locate and display the two devices she had registered. There was a menu with a dropdown list with Account. Which I clicked. This opened up a new page which, after re-authentication, gave access to her Apple ID account details.

All good so far except that there was no mention of MobileMe.

After a bit of digging I found a thread on Apple’s own Apple Support Communities forums. This lead me to an Apple Knowledge Base article. Which suggested the http://www.me.com/account link again.

By now I felt that I was going around in circles. I cannot tell you how many times I clicked a link then authenticated only to be on the Find page again. Yes, the only functionality I could find on MobileMe was the Find page!!!

Solution Found

It then struck me that I had this MobileMe email address. It turns out that I had to log in with that email address to access the MobileMe account details. Ironically, it said that it had no associated devices. At least it did allow me to cancel the subscription.

I cannot work out whether it was me or Apple. Should I have remembered to log in with this issued email address? Probably? Should MobileMe have allowed use of an existing Apple ID? Probably. Should Apple have reminded people that this login might use different credentials from their Apple ID that is used for other Apple services? I think so.

3 Responses to Unsubscribing from Apple’s MobileMe Trial

  1. Bob N says:

    Thanks for your post, I was having the same problem! Considering how user-friendly Apple is known to be, I agree that this could have been much more straightforward.

    • Mike Toloo says:

      To cancel the free MobileMe App on iphone do these;
      1. Tap Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars > MobileMe > Find My iPhone, Off, Delete,

      Yes.

      2. After you cancel Mobileme App, if connecting to http://me.com after login, it

      should say “No Device Registered”.

      Mike Toloo

      • Gary Varga says:

        Thanks, Mike. A good tip for those wanting to remove their device from the service.

        However, the issue resolved here was unsubscribing from the service itself which just removing the device does not do. Of course, since the original post MobileMe has been changed to be a free service.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

